Rich Lab:Important Lab Documents

From OpenWetWare
Jump to: navigation, search

OSU Forms

Travel Authorization Form

Department of Microbiology Forms

Lab Employee Contract

Lab Contact List

SWES-MEL Contact List
Name Scientific Role Home Lab Current Position and Institution Email Phone Birthday
Benjamin Bolduc Bioinformatics and IsoGenie Database Sullivan/Rich Postdoctoral Researcher at Ohio State University bolduc.10@osu.edu 406-595-8810 June
Kelsey Crossen Isogenie microbial communities Rich M.S. student turned Research Assistant at Ohio State University crossen.14@osu.edu 816-679-1487 June 2
Dawson Fairbanks Soil microbes and CZO Rich/Gallery PhD student at the University of Arizona dawsonfairbanks@email.arizona.edu 907-305-0446 January 20
Yushan Hao Peat and Ohio Wetlands Rich M.S. student at Ohio State University hao.236@osu.edu 979-739-2068 February 28
Suzanne Hodgkins Data Management for Isogenie and NASA-IDS Rich Postdoctoral researcher at Ohio State University suzannium@gmail.com 850-320-5006 June 1
Moira Hough Plant-microbe-C interactions Saleska/Rich PhD candidate at University of Arizona houghm@email.arizona.edu 914-310-7319 June 6
Josh Kolengowski Undergrad research assistant Rich Undergraduate at Ohio State University kolengowski.3@osu.edu 440-527-1830 Feb 12
Fen Li Molecular Biology Rich Researcher/Technician at Ohio State University sbingvivi@gmail.com 614-284-3897 February 3
Samantha McCabe Plants Rich M.S. student at Ohio State University mccabe.199@osu.edu 845-893-3063 June 1
Isabel Morales OTU Research Rich Research Assistant at Ohio State University morales.123@osu.edu 614-581-9106 March 24
Virginia Rich Various Rich PI at Ohio State University rich.270@osu.edu 617-694-5087 September 5
Gary Trubl IsoGenie viruses Sullivan/Rich Ph.D. student at Ohio State University trubl.1@osu.edu 602-317-8208 December 21
Gregory Zane Microbial Substrate Utilization Rich Undergraduate at Ohio State University zane.8@osu.edu 203-907-5389 November 25
Ahmed Zayed Isogenie metaproteomics Sullivan/Rich Ph.D. student at Ohio State University zayed.10@osu.edu 919-519-3950 May 19
Zhiping Zhong Glacier microbes and viruses Thompsons/Sullivan/Rich Postdoc fellow at Ohio State University zhong.393@osu.edu 614-641-3959 December 25

SWES-MEL Policies and Resources

OSU Policies on Purchasing, PCard, Expenditures, Travel, Leave, and more

OSU eLeave - Used for sick leave, vacation, etc.

University Business Leave - Must be filed when traveling on business, but not requesting OSU Funding

eTravel - OSU Funded University Business Travel

OSU Travel Resources, plus discounts on airline, hotel, and rental car expenses

OSU Brand Templates (email signatures, letterheads, etc.)

Some tips from Gin & others on work-related stuff:

Tips when training in someone else's lab:

  1. Take photos of everything. you might do this at day's end, or through the day as you're shown things, depending on how much you're moving around - you don't want to waste people's time waiting for you to take pics, but you do want a clear visual record of what you've seen
  2. Likewise for the parts involved
  3. Ask people "how much did (eg setting up each incubation, etc) cost? How long did it take you to set up? what was the toughest thing about this (process...)? What was the most unexpected thing about (X Y Z)? What troubleshooting was involved?
  4. At day's end, take an hour to summarize (in writing) your thoughts for the day, read through notes you took during that day to make sure they'll be clear later, and identify unanswered Qs or newly-unclear things based on re-reading, to be sure you get the addressed the following day.