20.109(F11): Fall 2011 schedule

From OpenWetWare

Jump to: navigation, search
20.109(F11): Laboratory Fundamentals of Biological Engineering

Home        People        Schedule Fall 2011        Assignments        Lab Basics        OWW Basics       
DNA Engineering        System Engineering        Biomaterials Engineering              

MODULE DAY DATE LECTURER TA LAB note
Thur Sept 8 NK Orientation Orientation Handout Fall 2011
ANS lab notes
1 1 Tues Sept 13 BE DNA engineering using PCR NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
1 2 Thur Sept 15 BE Clean and cut DNA NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
MIT Break Wed Sept 21 No lab Tues or Wed, but lecture will be held on Tues Sept 20
1 3 Thur Sept 22 BE Agarose gel electrophoresis Writing Faculty visit lab for intro to figures and legends
NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
1 4 Tues Sept 27 BE DNA ligation and bacterial transformation EHS visits lab
NK lab talk, ANS lab notes
1 5 Thur Sept 29 BE Examine candidate clones and tissue culture Diagnostic gel will be posted for your analysis
NK lab talk, ANS lab notes, ANS correction
1 6 Tues Oct 4 BE Lipofection & lab practical NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
1 7 Thurs Oct 6 BE FACS analysis
Columbus Day Break Monday, Tues Oct 10, 11 No lab Tues or Wed, but your powerpoint summary is due by 1PM 10.12.11
2 1 Thurs Oct 13 NK Testing an engineered biological system M2D1 lecture notes
NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
2 2 Tues Oct 18 NK Measuring System Performance Atissa will visit lab @4PM to offer tips for giving journal club talks
M2D2 lecture notes
NK lab notes, ANS lab notes (sorry for stretched text)
2 3 Thurs Oct 20 NK Tools for System Engineering M2D3 lecture notes
NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
2 4 Tues Oct 25 Journal Club Journal Club I
2 5 Thurs Oct 27 NK Assessing re-tuned system M2D5 lecture notes
NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
Writing faculty visit lab ~4PM for IMRD training
reference info
2 6 Tues Nov 1 NK Readout: DNA M2D6 lecture notes
NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
2 7 Thurs Nov 3 NK Readout: Protein M2D7 lecture notes
2 8 Tues Nov 8 Journal Club Journal Club II
Veteran's Day Break Fri Nov 11 No lab Thurs or Fri, but Mod 2 research article is due by 11:11AM on 11.11.11
3 1 Tues Nov 15 AB Growth of phage materials Angie's lecture
NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
3 2 Thurs Nov 17 AB Phage nanowires NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
Thanksgiving Break Nov 24, 25 No lab or lecture all week
3 3 Tues Nov 29 AB TEM
3 4 Thurs Dec 1 AB Solar cell assembly Atissa will visit lab @4PM to offer tips for giving talks with a partner
3 5 Tues Dec 6 AB Solar cell testing
3 6 Thurs Dec 8 AB Research proposal presentations We'll start this day in lab, 56-322, to finish off the BioMaterials module
Tues Dec 13 end of term celebration... Lecture for class evaluations then lunch from 11:30-1 PM, 56-614, no lab
Personal tools