Difference between revisions of "User:Aaron Lecanda Sanchez"

From OpenWetWare
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 14: Line 14:
  
 
==Research interests==
 
==Research interests==
<!-- Feel free to add brief descriptions to your research interests as well -->
+
# Synthetic biology
# Interest 1
+
# Induced pluripotent stem cells
# Interest 2
 
# Interest 3
 
  
 
==iGEM-UNAM-Genomics 2011==
 
==iGEM-UNAM-Genomics 2011==

Revision as of 11:26, 13 June 2011

Contact Info

Aaron Lecanda Sanchez
  • Aaron Lecanda Sanchez
  • Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico - Genomic Science
  • Lindon B. Jhonson 112, Cuernavaca Morelos, Mexico
  • Mail: alecanda@lcg.unam.mx

I work in the iGEM's lab at UNAM-CCG. I learned about OpenWetWare from iGEM, and I've joined because To share information about my work in iGEM.

Education

  • Bachillerato: Logos Escuela de Bachilleres A.C.
  • Actual student of the undergraduate program of Genomic Sciences at UNAM

Research interests

  1. Synthetic biology
  2. Induced pluripotent stem cells

iGEM-UNAM-Genomics 2011

We're a group composed of 13 students and 3 advisors who have a Bachelor's degree, both from the Program of Genomic Sciences at Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, as well as one emotive instructor.

Project: Hydromium etli

ABSTRACT

The bacteria Rhizobium etli occupies an important soil-enrichment, nitrogen-fixing niche in its symbiotic relationship with the common bean Phaseolus vulgaris. During its symbiotic stage, Rhizobium etli presents an adequate chemical environment for enzymatic hydrogen production. Although Rhizobium etli naturally produces hydrogen, it is through a low efficiency reaction. If more efficient hydrogen production is achieved, Rhizobium etli will acquire both the capacity of bioremediation via nitrogen fixation, as well as energy production.

Our central goal is to generate a transgenic Rhizobium etli , incorporating elements form the bacteria Clostridium acetobutylicum, the algae Chlamydomonas reinhardtii, and the bacteria Desulfovibrio africanus, in order to enhance hydrogen production to a utilizable threshold while preserving its nitrogen fixation and symbiotic capabilities. Currently, there are no alternatives combining both hydrogen and nitrogen pathways in a single organic and green chassis. As such, our system promises an eco-friendly alternative to chemically derived soil enrichment with hydrogen co-production.

Our aims are:

  • Hydrogen production through the design and implementation of a synthetic gene circuit.
  • Nitrogen fixation through an endogenous enzymatic pathway of our host chassis.
  • The creation of a self-sustained transgenic system capable of mild bioremediation and energy contributions.


Members

Name e-mail Role Picture
Daniela García dgarcia@lcg.unam.mx Student Daniela.png
Héctor Medina hmedina@lcg.unam.mx Student HectorMedina.jpg
Fabricio López jlopez@lcg.unam.mx Student Fabricio Lopez.UNAM.2010.jpg
Daniel Ramírez dramirez@lcg.unam.mx Student Daniel.png
Paulina Alatriste palatris@lcg.unam.mx Student Foto del día 31-03-2011 a la(s) 17-58.jpg
Helena Reyes hreyes@lcg.unam.mx Student HRG.jpg
Pablo Garcia pgarcia@lcg.unam.mx Student 40787 140661455974202 100000910459805 200782 5566883 n.jpg
Melisa Rivas mrivas@lcg.unam.mx Student Meli.jpg
Abiel Trevino atrevino@lcg.unam.mx Student User-Abiel Trevino Garza.jpg
Melissa Molho melissam@lcg.unam.mx Student Melissita.jpg
Uriel Urquiza jurquiza@lcg.unam.mx Advisor Uriel.jpg
Fernando Montaño Advisor Nando.jpg
Enrique Paz epaz@lcg.unam.mx Advisor Photo Paz.jpg
Miguel Ángel Ramírez Romero mramirez@ccg.unam.mx Instructor