Difference between revisions of "Help:Reverting edits"

From OpenWetWare
Jump to: navigation, search
 
Line 6: Line 6:
 
#Click the time and date stamp link for the version of the page just before the edit you want to undo.
 
#Click the time and date stamp link for the version of the page just before the edit you want to undo.
 
#Click the [[Image:EditButton.jpg]] tab at the top of the page.
 
#Click the [[Image:EditButton.jpg]] tab at the top of the page.
#Click [[Image:ShowPreviewButton.jpg]] to view the current version of the page (and confirm that is the version you wish to restore).
+
#Click [[Image:ShowPreviewButton.jpg]] to view and confirm the version of the page you wish to restore
 
#Click [[Image:SavePageButton.jpg]] to save the current version of the page (thereby undoing all future edits).  It is generally a good idea to put a short note in the '''Summary:''' box explaining why you reverted the edit.
 
#Click [[Image:SavePageButton.jpg]] to save the current version of the page (thereby undoing all future edits).  It is generally a good idea to put a short note in the '''Summary:''' box explaining why you reverted the edit.

Revision as of 07:35, 20 June 2006

Occasionally, edits to pages in OpenWetWare are made which are incorrect or should not have been done. Fortunately, undoing edits is simple in a wiki. Here are some simple instructions on how to undo edits (also called reverting to a previous version of the page).

  1. Go to the page whose edit you would like to undo.
  2. Click on the Historytab.png tab at the top of the page.
  3. You'll now be viewing the revision history of the page.
  4. Click the time and date stamp link for the version of the page just before the edit you want to undo.
  5. Click the EditButton.jpg tab at the top of the page.
  6. Click ShowPreviewButton.jpg to view and confirm the version of the page you wish to restore
  7. Click SavePageButton.jpg to save the current version of the page (thereby undoing all future edits). It is generally a good idea to put a short note in the Summary: box explaining why you reverted the edit.