20.109(F10): Fall 2010 schedule

From OpenWetWare
Revision as of 17:27, 9 November 2010 by Nkuldell (talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search


20.109(F10): Laboratory Fundamentals of Biological Engineering

Homepage imageidea F10.jpg

Home        People        Schedule Fall 2010        Assignments        Lab Basics        OWW Basics       
DNA Engineering        System Engineering        Biomaterials Engineering              

MODULE DAY DATE LECTURER TA LAB note
Thur Sept 9 NK Orientation Orientation Handout Fall 2010
1 1 Tue Sept 14 NK and MSJ JG DNA engineering using PCR M1D1 lecture handout
M1D1 lab talk
1 2 Thur Sept 16 MSJ JG Clean and cut DNA Neal/Linda/Atissa visit lab their slides are here
M1D2 lecture handout
M1D2 lab talk
1 3 Tue Sept 21 NK and DW JG Agarose gel electrophoresis NK M1D3 lecture and DW M1D3 lecture and M1D3 lab talk
1 4 Thur Sept 23 OK JG DNA ligation and bacterial transformation M1D4 lecture slides
M1D4 lab lecture
1 5 Tue Sept 28 OK JG Examine candidate clones M1D5 lecture slides
M1D5 lab lecture
EHS visits lab
1 6 Thur Sept 30 OK JG Restriction map and tissue culture M1D6 lecture slides
M1D6 lab lecture
Neal/Linda visit lab for peer review exercise
1 7 Tue Oct 5 DW JG Lipofection Mod 1 "progress report" due by 11AM today
M1D7 lecture slides and stats papers
M1D7 lab talk
M1D7 lab stats talk pptx and as pdf
1 8 Thur Oct 7 DW JG FACS analysis M1D8 lecture slides
Columbus Day Break Monday Oct 11 No lab Tuesday, but Mod 1 "P3" is due by 11AM 10.13.10
2 1 Thurs Oct 14 NK MS Testing an engineered biological system M2D1 lecture handout
M2D1 lab slides
2 2 Tues Oct 19 NK MS Measuring System Performance M2D2 lecture handout
M2D2 lab slides
2 3 Thurs Oct 21 NK MS Tools for System Engineering M2D3 lecture handout
M2D3 lab slides
2 4 Tues Oct 26 Journal Club MS Journal Club I We'll be having lecture at the regular time/place and then meeting in the lab for a few minutes starting at 1.
2 5 Thurs Oct 28 NK MS Assessing re-tuned system Neal and Linda visit lab for IMRD training
M2D5 lecture handout
2 6 Tues Nov 2 NK MS Readout: DNA M2D6 lecture handout
2 7 Thurs Nov 4 NK MS Readout: Protein M2D7 lecture handout
Bring your writing and your questions by the lab as needed
2 8 Tues Nov 9 Journal Club MS Journal Club II
Veteran's Day Break Thurs Nov 11 Mod 2 research article is due by 11:59PM on 11.11.10
3 1 Tues Nov 16 AB JC Growth of phage materials
3 2 Thurs Nov 18 AB JC Phage nanowires
3 3 Tues Nov 23 AB JC TEM
Thanksgiving Break Nov 25, 26 No lab or lecture
3 4 Tues Nov 30 AB JC Battery assembly Atissa will visit lab to offer tips for giving talks with a partner
3 5 Thurs Dec 2 AB JC Battery testing
3 6 Tues Dec 7 AB JC Research proposal presentations We'll start this day in lab, 56-322, to finish off the BioMaterials module
Thurs Dec 9 end of term celebration... Lecture for class evaluations then lunch from 11:30-1 PM, 56-614, no lab