20.109(F09): Fall 2009 schedule

From OpenWetWare

Revision as of 11:56, 8 December 2009 by Nkuldell (Talk | contribs)
(diff) ←Older revision | Current revision (diff) | Newer revision→ (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search
20.109(F09): Laboratory Fundamentals of Biological Engineering

Home        People        Schedule Fall 2009        Assignments        Lab Basics        OWW Basics       
DNA Engineering        System Engineering        Biomaterials Engineering              

MODULE DAY DATE LECTURER TA LAB note
Thur Sept 10 NK Orientation Orientation lecture handout
1 1 Tue Sept 15 BE MSJ DNA engineering using PCR Lecture Handout

NK lab notes, ANS lab notes

1 2 Thur Sept 17 BE MSJ Clean and cut DNA Neal/Linda/Atissa visit lab

NK lab notes, ANS lab notes, Lecture Handout

1 3 Tue Sept 22 BE MSJ Agarose gel electrophoresis NK lab notes, ANS lab notes, Lecture Handout
1 4 Thur Sept 24 BE MSJ DNA ligation and bacterial transformation NK lab notes, ANS lab notes, Lecture Handout
1 5 Tue Sept 29 BE MSJ Examine candidate clones Christine from EHS visits lab

NK lab notes, ANS lab notes, Lecture Handout

1 6 Thur Oct 1 BE MSJ Restriction map and tissue culture Neal/Linda visit lab for peer review exercise
NK lab notes, ANS lab notes, Lecture notes, Michelle's Stats for TR lab
1 7 Tue Oct 6 BE MSJ Lipofection Mod 1 "progress report" due by 11AM on the day you have lab

NK lab notes, ANS lab notes, Lecture notes

1 8 Thur Oct 8 BE MSJ FACS analysis Lecture notes
Columbus Day Break Monday Oct 12 No lab Tuesday and Wednesday
2 1 Thurs Oct 15 NK TD Testing an engineered biological system Mod 1 "memo" is due by 11AM on the day you have lab
M2D1 lecture handout
NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
2 2 Tues Oct 20 NK TD Measuring System Performance M2D2 lecture handout
NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
2 3 Thurs Oct 22 NK TD Tools for System Engineering M2D3 lecture handout
NK lab notes, ANS lab notes
2 4 Tues Oct 27 NK TD Journal Club I We'll be starting and ending this day in the lab so meet in 56-322
2 5 Thurs Oct 29 NK TD Assessing re-tuned system M2D5 lecture handout, ANS lab notes
2 6 Tues Nov 3 NK TD Readouts: DNA, Protein Guest lecture from Drew Endy
NK lab handout, ANS lab notes
2 7 Thurs Nov 5 NK TD Journal Club II ANS slides from 11/9 office hour
Veteran's Day Break Wed Nov 11 No lab Tuesday and Wednesday
3 1 Thurs Nov 12 AB BW Growth of phage materials Your Mod 2 research article is due before 11AM on the day you have lab

NK lab handout, ANS lab notes

3 2 Tues Nov 17 AB BW Phage nanowires NK lab handout, ANS lab notes
3 3 Thurs Nov 19 AB BW TEM troubleshooting ppt
Thanksgiving Break Nov 26, 27 No lab or lecture all week
3 4 Tues Dec 1 AB BW Battery assembly At the start of today's lecture, Linda Sutliff will offer tips for giving talks with a partner

Linda's lecture slides
NK lab notes

3 5 Thurs Dec 3 AB BW Battery testing Guest Lecture Dr. Mark Allen
lecture pptand calculation info

NK lab notes, ANS lab notes

3 6 Tues Dec 8 AB BW Research proposal presentations We'll start this day in lab, 56-322, to finish off the BioMaterials module
charge/discharge pptand data xls from John
Thurs Dec 10 end of term celebration... Lecture for class evaluations then lunch from noon-1:30 PM, no lab
Personal tools